Campbell, Ward named Youth of Year

Published 11:47am Thursday, May 9, 2013

The Wetumpka Exchange Club held its annual Youth of the Year banquet March 14. Students from Elmore County Schools presented speeches on “Youth Volunteerism: Working magic in our communities.”
Attending were Colton Campbell and Maria Ruiz de Olamo from Holtville High, Trenton Gartman and Raven Crenshaw from Stanhope Elmore, Drew Miller and Regene Tell from Wetumpka High, Alex Moseley and Danielle Parducci from Elmore County High and Patricia Ward from Edgewood Academy.
Each student received a $100 award for their essay.
Winners this year were Colton Campbell and Patricia Ward. Each received $850 and will represent the Wetumpka Exchange Club at the state contest June 22 at Lake Guntersville State Park. Both will have a chance to win another $1,600 at the competition.
Also attending the banquet were sponsors Keith Powers, Mark McGee, Kenisha Brown, Robin Davis and Susan Montgomery. Representing the board of education was Dr. Molly Killingsworth.
“We appreciate all of these great students,” said Haywood Robbins of the Exchange Club.

Editor's Picks