Education Briefs

Published 1:56pm Saturday, August 3, 2013

Scott attends leadership program
Hunter Scott represented Holtville High School at the Alabama Youth Leadership Program at Jacksonville State University June 7-9.
The program provides leadership training to high school students in Alabama by teaching responsible leadership and enhancing their leadership abilities for the betterment of their schools and communities.
■ ■ ■
Area students honored at Montevallo
During the University of Montevallo’s recent Honors Day ceremonies, two Elmore County students were recognized by the respective colleges in which they are enrolled.
Sophia Priolo of Wetumpka received Honors from the Department of Music, awarded to full-time undergraduate students who have completed at least 12 semester hours and whose cumulative grade point average is between 3.5 and 3.8.
Priolo also received the Freshman Honors Scholarship, awarded to freshmen on the basis of academic achievement, which includes high school grade point average and test scores. The scholarship is renewable by maintaining a 3.25 cumulative GPA.
Caitlin Towle of Deatsville received Highest Honors from the Kinesiology Program in the College of Education, awarded to full-time undergraduate students who have completed at least 12 semester hours and whose cumulative grade point average is 3.8 or better.
Todd Thompson of Tallassee received Junior Honors from the Michael E. Stephens College of Business, awarded to full-time undergraduate students who have completed at least 12 semester hours and whose cumulative UM grade point average is between 3.5 and 3.8.
Thompson also received the Community College Dean’s Scholarship, presented to qualified transfer students from Alabama two-year colleges who live on campus. The scholarship is renewable by maintaining a 3.25 cumulative grade point average.
■ ■ ■
Local residents graduate from AU
Auburn University recently released its list of graduates for the 2013 spring semester. Elmore County students receiving degrees were:
Coosada – Lauren Houston Woller, DPY, Pharmacy
Deatsville – Robert D. Cassidy, DPY, Pharmacy; Jordan E. Cox, BS, Nursing; Bethany K. Edgar, BMTL, Materials Engineering; Rachel Kelley Edgar, MISE, Industrial and Systems Engineering; Joseph Blake Evans, BA, Communication; Jon­athan P. Gibbons, BME, Mechanical Engineering; William Blake Hubert, MSN, Nurse Primary Care Practitioner; Anna C. Powers, BAR, Architecture; Ronald A. Rhinesmith, BEE, Electrical Engineering; Jennifer Marie Robinson, BA, Spanish
Eclectic – Abigail Leigh Dennis, BS, Exercise Science; Steven G. Grecu, BA, English; Matthew A. Worthy, BSBA, Marketing
Millbrook – Amanda Nicole Martin, BS, Biomedical Sciences; Sarah Lynn Sutton, DPY, Pharmacy
Tallassee – Katie Ann Aaron, BPFE, Polymer Option; Marquarius Terrell Askew, MSNT, Management Info Systems; Robert J. Bird, BCHE, Chemical Engineering; Katelyn C. Hamilton, BS, Biomedical Sciences
Wetumpka –Jason Robert Acreman, BA, Political Science; Brittany S. Alexander, DPY, Pharmacy; Cody W. Biegler, BSBA, Supply Chain Management; Andrew B. Boudousquie, BS, Forestry; Abbey Elizabeth Brewer, BS, Human Development and Family Studies; Matthew J. Echeverria, BSWE, Software Engineering; Kyle A. Emfinger, BWE, Wireless Engineering-Hardware Option; John Alexander Gandy, BS, Building Science; Christopher Bryan King, MCP, Community Planning; Virginia E. Lucky, BS, Elementary Education; Kelly S. Lynn, BS, Chemistry; Clint S. Martin, BS, Animal Sciences – Pre-Veterinary; Ikeem R. Means, BSBA, Management; Mamie Elizabeth Price, BS, Nutrition – Dietetics; Donald Ray Riggins, BA, Sociology; Elissa Claire Ritchey, MLAG, Landscape Architecture; Zachary Cain Skinner, BCE, Civil Engineering; Matthew C. Sutter, BS, General Social Science Education
■ ■ ■
County students earn AU recognition
The following local students earned recognition on the Auburn University Dean’s List for spring semester 2013:
Coosada – John P. Houston
Deatsville – Laura Dianne Berkstresser, Joseph Blake Evans, Stephanie M. Howard, Zoe A. Morris, Anna C. Powers, Jennifer Marie Robinson
Eclectic – Justin T. Davenport, Sarah J. Fuller, Victoria E. Hollifield, Miranda L. McCurdy
Millbrook – Anease I. Adams
Tallassee – Carly N. Garnett, Cody Mitchel Jinnette, Autumn K. Moore
Titus – Katelyn M. Leonard
Wetumpka – Abigail K. Bartlett, Abbey Elizabeth Brewer, Ryan A. Ebbinga, John Alexander Gandy, William K. Gilley, Emma Kate Hill, Whitney Nicole Lee, Kelly S. Lynn, Rachel G. Miller, Samira Mukkamala, Blake S. Osborne, Taylor Brooke Pittman, Dana A. Sisk, Jonathan J. Smart, Sarah K. Street, John A. Talbot, Evan M. Venable
■ ■ ■
Local students earn Troy degrees
Summer commencement ceremonies were held recently on the Troy Montgomery campus. Elmore County residents awarded degrees were:
Millbrook – Rodney Lamar Johnson
Wetumpka – Halie E. Thomas
Eclectic – Courtney Guary, Charles A. Rankin Jr.
Elmore – Renee Cope Wright
Millbrook – Amy Jo Adair, Joshua Wesley Apperson
Tallassee – Devlon Ortay Waver
Titus – Pamela Nichole Rollins (cum laude)
Wetumpka – April Danielle Mahkamov
Deatsville – Kristin Byrd, Terri Mantay, Henry Martin
Millbrook – Charles Mayo
Tallassee – Robert Brennan, Allison Rodgers
Wetumpka – Franchesca Harris, Steven Reeves
Education Specialist
Wetumpka – Deana Fuller.

Editor's Picks