Special primary election for House District 31 set for Tuesday

Published 8:00am Friday, November 29, 2013

A special primary election will be held Tuesday to fill the vacant District 31 seat in the Alabama House of Representatives.

Four Republican candidates will be on the ballot – 47-year-old Frank Bertarelli of Wetumpka, 68-year-old Jimmy Collier of Wetumpka, 71-year-old Mike Holmes of Wetumpka and 45-year-old Michael Griggs of Tallassee.

Regular polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day. In accordance with state law, voters must present acceptable identification before being permitted to cast their ­ballots.

After the polls close, real-time election results for the 19 Elmore County precincts involved will be available to the general public online, or citizens may view returns at the Wetumpka Civic Center starting at 7:30 p.m.

The new methods for reporting results are being orchestrated by the Elmore County Probate Office. The probate office’s elections website is elmorecountyelections.org.

“We have been looking for the best way to provide the citizens of Elmore County with immediate access to local election results,” said Probate Judge John Enslen. “We want to try something new.”

Currently District 31 encompasses large portions of Elmore and ­Coosa counties.

The successful candidate will serve in the upcoming legislative session, but will have to stand for re-election in next year’s election cycle.

Because of reapportionment the district’s boundaries will change at that time. The new district will include most of Elmore County and a small part of Autauga County.

Enslen said he expects a runoff election as a result of Dec. 3 balloting.

“Based on the number of candidates, there is a high probability that a primary runoff will be necessary,” he said. “If so, that primary runoff election will be held on Jan. 28, 2014. Following the primary runoff election, the special general election will be held March 25, 2014. In the unlikely event that no runoff is required, then the general election will be held Jan. 28, 2014.”

The regularly scheduled election cycle will begin with a June 3 primary, followed by a July 15 primary runoff. Next year’s general election will be Nov. 4.

The District 31 seat is vacant following the resignation of Barry Mask in September.

Editor's Picks