The Elmore County Board of Education heard at its Monday meeting it could cost $5 million to replace freon in the system’s 717 air conditioning units.

The school system cannot use R22 freon in its units because it is being banned by the  Environmental Protection Agency as of Jan. 1, 2020 because it causes ozone damage.

Jean Czerpak, the administrative assistant to superintendent Richard Dennis, said school board commissioners received a general estimate of $5,039,050 to replace the R22 systemwide. The school system will let bids on the work which will be done in increments, Czerpak said, and the project will be paid for through a $40 million bond issue the school system is seeking.

Commissioners also approved a resolution naming Citigroup as the sole underwriter for the $40 million bond.

In other action at the meeting, the board:

• Heard the fiscal year 2018 audit is clean after one warning was corrected.

• Approved salary schedules for employees system-wide and supplements for arts and athletics employees. The arts supplements range from $500 up to $11,000 annually for a varsity band director; the athletics supplements for 6A schools range from $1,500 for varsity bowling to $12,000 annually for the head football coach and athletic director.

• Amended the fiscal year 2019 budget after adding federal carryover funds and new state allocations.

• Approved May’s financial statement.

• Approved the following personnel actions:



ARIS: Airport Road Intermediate

ECAP: Elmore County Alternative Program

ECCDP: Elmore County Child Development Program

ECHS: Elmore County High

ECTC: Elmore County Technical Center

EES: Eclectic Elementary

CES: Coosada Elementary

C/O: Central office

HES: Holtville Elementary

HHS: Holtville High

HMS: Holtville Middle

MMS: Millbrook Middle

RES: Redland Elementary

SEHS: Stanhope Elmore High

V/S: Elmore County Virtual School

WES: Wetumpka Elementary

WHS: Wetumpka High

WMS: Wetumpka Middle



• Elke Ash, HMS CNP worker

• Jelisa Bailey, CES first grade

• Jocelyne Barrett, MMS fifth grade

• Renee Bisbee, WMS CNP worker

• Lacreshia Brown, ARIS counselor

• Michael Brown, WHS general science

• Marco Creel, MMS math

• Kimberly Curry, ARIS third grade

• Veronica Daniels, CES special education

• Kaelin Dawson, HHS physical education

• James Greer, ECHS custodian

• David Helsing, WHS custodian

• Vickie Hensel, MMS custodian

• Jessica Hilyer, HES CNP worker

• Abby Huff, WES special education

• Latasha Jackson, WMS social science

• Brittany Kirkus, MMS CNP worker

• Brooklyn Knight, HES third grade

• Nichole Lawrence, HMS CNP manager

• Mark Maddaloni, WHS math

• Phillip McGuire, MMS math

• Chalonda McQueen, MMS library aide

• Erica Means, ECTC RAMP aide

• Payton Robertson, WES second grade

• Kristen Schloss, WMS sixth grade

• Kimberly Skipper, CES kindergarten

• Amy Taylor, HMS counselor

• Emily Wingard, WES first grade

• Tammy Woodall, WHS CNP assistant manager



• Tonya Anderson, SEHS CNP assistant manager to ARIS assistant manager

• Cheryl Ayala, ECHS CNP worker to EMS CNP worker

• Jermel Bell, ECAP Wetumpka math to ECAP Millbrook and ECAP Wetumpka math

• Tonia Caton, ECAP Wetumpka English to ECAP Millbrook English

• Brenda Collins, ARIS CNP worker to MMS CNP worker

• Stevie Cooley, ECAP Wetumpka social science to ECAP Millbrook social science

• Jeannie Dickerson, WHS special education aide to WMS special education aid

• Susan Douglass, ECAP Wetumpka special education aide to ECAP Millbrook special education aide

• Tiffany Evans, WHS CNP assistant manager to WHS CNP manager

• Selena Glass, ECAP Wetumpka teacher’s aide to ECAP Millbrook clerical

• Anissa Harris, MMS CNP worker to MMS CNP assistant manager

• Curtis Leonard, ECAP Wetumpka special education aide to ECAP Millbrook special education aide

• Brandie Lowery, HHS CNP worker to HHS CNP assistant manager

• John McIntyre, ECAP Wetumpka instructional aide to ECTC Reboot instructional aide

• Teresa Phillips, CES special education to MMS fifth grade

• Rebekah Secrest, ECAP Wetumpka biology to ECAP Millbrook and ECAP Wetumpka biology

• Sandra Smith, WHS CNP manager to WMS CNP worker

• Jessica Thompson, ARIS CNP assistant manager to SEHS CNP assistant manager

• Lisa Thornton, ECHS CNP worker to EES CNP worker

• Amy Williams, MMS fifth grade to CES administrative assistant



• Jonathan Adams, SEHS math

• Norma Alexander, EMS CNP worker

• Lindsey Brown, SEHS special education

• David Jackson, MMS fifth grade

• Ashley Johnson-Alexander, CES pre-K auxiliary

• Kristen Peek, WHS general science

• Amy Turner, ARIS third grade



• Lanie Smith, WMS fifth grade (maternity)



• Tonya Bowman, SEHS