The Wetumpka Depot Players announced its production of “The Diviners” by Jim Leonard Jr. will be performed at AACTFest, the National Community Theatre Festival, in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, on June 19.

The Depot Players will stage a one-night-only special performance of “The Diviners” at the Alabama Shakespeare Festival on May 30.  

The journey to the National Festival began in November 2018, when the production won the Alabama Community Theatre Festival in Tuscaloosa. The production then moved on to Knoxville, Tennessee, for the Region IV Festival at the Southeastern Theatre Conference.

AACT Region IV includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. In addition to winning the AACT Region IV Festival, the production was honored with Festival Adjudicator Awards for Spirit of the Road.

“Lighting has struck the Depot Players again with yet another invitation to present a show in the national spotlight,” Depot board president Jeff Langham said. “Wetumpka and the entire River Region benefits from our 39-year history of producing award-winning productions. The Depot is especially blessed with talented actors, directors, musicians, visual artists and scenic and lighting designers. ‘The Diviners’ is a perfect example of our collaborative spirit. We hope the entire community will support this effort by purchasing a ticket to our one-night-only special performance of ‘The Diviners’ at the Alabama Shakespeare Festival.”

Tickets for that show are available through the Depot box office at 334-868-1440 or at

This is the second time the Depot Players have been recognized nationally. In 2010, the Depot’s production of “Second Samuel” was presented at AACTFest. The performance was such an audience favorite that subsequent productions have been performed all over the country.

AACTFest 2019 is the culmination of a two-year cycle of state and regional theatre AACT festivals and will feature 12 community theatre productions from across the United States and the U.S. military overseas that received top honors in their respective state and regional festivals.